Messe Frankfurt

MWAY DIGITAL develops app family for Messe Frankfurt

mway - relution - bluerange
mway - relution - bluerange

MWAY DIGITAL develops app family for Messe Frankfurt

Many exhibitors and interested parties gather at trade fair stands and exchange information on specific topics. In order to make the trade fair visit clearly arranged for visitors and participants, the challenge lies in the management of a lot of information. The provision and processing of data is a finely orchestrated result that is assembled from many individual parts.

MWAY DIGITAL GmbH, a subsidiary of MWAY GROUP GmbH, has been supporting Messe Frankfurt GmbH for years in the conception, development and implementation of mobile applications. In the meantime, a complete app family has been created. The more than 60 apps are an important part of Messe Frankfurt's digitalisation strategy.

The Challenge

The Challenge

In order to provide visitors with an optimal overview, useful information and orientation at the respective trade fair, a companion was needed that could be used intuitively at every event.

When developing the app for Messe Frankfurt, the first question was how all the information about exhibitors, exhibition grounds, news and trends for different trade fairs could be processed and summarised so that it could then be accessed via a mobile device. The goal was to establish a central system that is easy to maintain and can be used across all events

The solution - Content Management System

The solution - Content Management System

In order to manage all data conveniently, various source systems such as the exhibitor database, the CAD system, the event calendar or social media profiles were integrated into a central database. Source data for the mobile app is also imported, processed and optimised at regular intervals. In order to reduce the enormous amount of data exchanged between the mobile app and database to a minimum, a special function was developed, a so-called Delta Sync, which only retrieves the changed data since the last synchronisation.

"In order to be able to map more than 60 events worldwide with their own appearance in a trade fair app every year, the app was developed as a modular system. This achieves a high degree of flexibility and adaptability to the needs of the individual events," explains Timo Schneider, responsible IT team leader at MWAY DIGITAL.

The app's presentation, modules and content can be updated quickly and easily via a content management system. Changes and updates can be made available in short cycles. This ensures that the event app always displays the relevant information and guarantees an optimal user experience.

One app for all needs

The app impresses with its intuitive user interface and good usability, which has been optimised for different devices. Criteria such as device and platform compatibility, data security, local data storage for offline mode, different network connections, operating system updates as well as modularity for future requirements were also considered in the conception and implementation.

The app for iOS and Android was realised in the open source framework Flutter. A core function of the app is an intuitive map of the grounds, whose map is updated almost in real time to reflect the latest changes and provide visitors with good orientation. In addition to the event site in Frankfurt am Main, the trade fairs in Nuremberg, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Wiesbaden, Cologne and the cities of Paris, Shanghai, Tokyo, Osaka and Buenos Aires are also supported.

In addition, the mobile app offers the possibility to obtain information on exhibitors, grounds and events via an integrated audio guide.

“MWAY DIGITAL has managed to combine the high requirements and wishes of Messe Frankfurt in a holistic concept consisting of backend, frontend and mobile app and to integrate it into our system landscape. The solution provides tangible added value for our trade fair visitors and has become a key success factor for our events,” confirms Tarik Koujou, Team Leader Global IT Service Management at Messe Frankfurt.

Facts

Facts

  • CUSTOMER
  • Frankfurt Trade Fair
  • IMPLEMENTATION
  • MWAY DIGITAL GmbH
  • INDUSTRY
  • Trade fair, congress and event organisers
  • TECHNOLOGY
  • Flutter, Java, Spring Boot, MongoDB, Angular
  • HIGHLIGHTS
  • Connection of numerous data sources to a central system, preparation and optimal provision of data to the mobile app, trade fair-specific app delivery via central CMS, intuitive site plans in real time, latest technologies
  • Pictures
  • Messe Frankfurt / Pietro Sutera, stockphoto grinvalds, jotily, klaushoffmann.com

Curious About Further Cases?

Mobile Device Management with Relution
Unified Endpoint Management

Relution is the leading standard software for device management

Siemens Pebbles
Pebbles and MWAY

Electricity directly from the neighbour? - Possible with blockchain technology

Messe Frankfurt

MWAY DIGITAL entwickelt App-Familie für die Messe Frankfurt

mway - relution - bluerange
mway - relution - bluerange

MWAY DIGITAL entwickelt App-Familie für die Messe Frankfurt

Viele Ausstellende und Interessierte tummeln sich auf Messe-Ständen und tauschen sich zu bestimmten Themen aus. Um den Messebesuch für Besucher:innen und Teilnehmer:innen übersichtlich zu ermöglichen, liegt die Herausforderung in der Verwaltung von vielen Informationen. Die Bereitstellung und Verarbeitung von Daten ist ein fein orchestriertes Ergebnis, das aus vielen Einzelteilen zusammengesetzt wird.

Die MWAY DIGITAL GmbH, ein Tochterunternehmen der MWAY GROUP GmbH begleitet seit Jahren die Messe Frankfurt GmbH bei der Konzeption, Entwicklung und Umsetzung von mobilen Applikationen. Mittlerweile ist eine komplette App-Familie entstanden. Die mehr als 60 Apps sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Digitalisierungsstrategie der Messe Frankfurt

Die Herausforderung

Die Herausforderung

Um Besucher:innen einen optimalen Überblick, zweckmäßige Informationen und eine Orientierung auf der jeweiligen Messe an die Hand zu geben, wurde ein Wegbegleiter benötigt, der intuitiv auf jeder Veranstaltung einsetzbar ist.

Bei der Entwicklung der App für die Messe Frankfurt stand am Anfang die Frage, wie all die Informationen über Aussteller, Gelände, Neuigkeiten und Trends für verschiedene Messen aufgearbeitet und zusammengefasst werden können, um anschließend über ein mobiles Endgerät abrufbar zu sein. Ziel war es, ein zentrales System zu etablieren, das einfach zu pflegen und veranstaltungsübergreifend nutzbar ist.

Die Lösung

Die Lösung — Content Management System

Um alle Daten komfortabel zu verwalten, wurden verschiedene Quellsysteme wie zum Beispiel die Ausstellerdatenbank, das CAD-System, der Eventkalender oder Social-Media-Profile in eine zentrale Datenbank integriert. Auch werden in regelmäßigen Abständen Quelldaten für die mobile App importiert, aufbereitet und optimiert. Um die enormen Datenmengen beim Austausch zwischen der mobilen App und Datenbank auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren, wurde speziell eine Funktion entwickelt, ein sogenanntes Delta Sync, die lediglich die veränderten Daten seit der letzten Synchronisation abruft.

„Um weltweit jährlich über 60 Veranstaltungen mit eigenem Erscheinungsbild in einer Messe-App abbilden zu können, wurde die App als modulares Baukastensystem entwickelt. Dadurch wird eine hohe Flexibilität und Anpassbarkeit an die Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Veranstaltungen erreicht“, erklärt Timo Schneider, verantwortlicher IT-Teamleiter bei MWAY DIGITAL.

Über ein Content Management System lassen sich Darstellung, Module und Inhalte der App einfach und schnell aktualisieren. Änderungen und Updates lassen sich in kurzen Zyklen bereitstellen. So wird sichergestellt, dass in der Veranstaltungs-App immer die relevanten Informationen ausgespielt werden und eine optimale Nutzererfahrung gewährleistet ist.

Eine App für alle Bedürfnisse

Die App besticht durch ihre intuitive Benutzeroberfläche und einer guten Bedienbarkeit, die für verschiedene Geräte optimiert wurde. Auch Kriterien wie Geräte- und Plattformkompatibilität, Datensicherheit, lokale Datenspeicherung für Offline-Modus, unterschiedliche Netzwerkverbindungen, Betriebssystem-Updates sowie Modularität für zukünftige Anforderungen wurden in der Konzeption und der Umsetzung bedacht.

Die App für iOS und Android wurde in dem Open-Source-Framework Flutter realisiert. Eine Kernfunktion der App ist ein intuitiver Geländeplan, dessen Karte sich nahezu in Echtzeit aktualisiert, um neueste Änderungen wiederzugeben und Besuchern eine gute Orientierung zu ermöglichen. Neben dem Veranstaltungsgelände in Frankfurt am Main werden auch die Messen in Nürnberg, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Wiesbaden, Köln sowie die Städte Paris, Shanghai, Tokio, Osaka und Buenos Aires unterstützt.

Darüber hinaus bietet die mobile App über einen integrierten Audioguide die Möglichkeit, Informationen zu Ausstellern, Gelände und Veranstaltungen zu erhalten.

„Die MWAY DIGITAL hat es geschafft, die hohen Anforderungen und Wünsche der Messe Frankfurt in einem ganzheitlichen Konzept bestehend aus Backend, Frontend und mobiler App zu vereinen und in unsere Systemlandschaft zu integrieren. Die Lösung leistet einen spürbaren Mehrwert für unsere Messebesucher:innen und ist zu einem zentralen Erfolgsfaktor unserer Veranstaltungen geworden,“ bestätigt Tarik Koujou, Teamleiter Global IT Service Management bei der Messe Frankfurt.

Fakten

Fakten

  • Kunde
  • Messe Frankfurt
  • Umsetzung
  • MWAY DIGITAL GmbH
  • Branche
  • Messe-, Kongress- und Eventveranstalter
  • Technologie
  • Flutter, Java, Spring Boot, MongoDB, Angular
  • Highlights
  • Anbindung zahlreicher Datenquellen an ein zentrales System, Aufbereitung und optimale Bereitstellung der Daten an die mobile App, messespezifische App-Auslieferung über zentrales CMS, intuitive Geländepläne in Echtzeit, neueste Technologien.
  • Bilder
  • Messe Frankfurt / Pietro Sutera, stockphoto grinvalds, jotily, klaushoffmann.com

Darfs ein bisschen mehr sein?

Siemens Pebbles
Pebbles und MWAY

Strom direkt vom Nachbarn? – Möglich mit der Blockchaintechnologie

Logistik Plattform
Logistik Plattform

Innen komplex, hochverfügbar, skalierbar – außen intuitiv und fehlerfrei nutzbar