BlueRange
Bluetooth Mesh - The Solution for Digitizing Spaces

BlueRange

Our product world BlueRange combines everything that is needed for complex (IoT) end-to-end solutions in the field of Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Mesh applications, e.g. asset tracking, building automation, lighting management and more. The BlueRange technology itself is first and foremost a wireless digital infrastructure, a protocol based on Bluetooth, detached from applications. Depending on the requirements, different use cases are mapped.

The backbone of BlueRange is published as an open-source version (FruityMesh) under the GPL license on GitHub. The mesh protocol offers significantly higher energy efficiency and higher data throughput than comparable protocols, such as the official Bluetooth Mesh of the Bluetooth SIG. Nevertheless, BlueRange is fully compatible with standard Bluetooth devices.

A smart building with sensors and actuators that communicate and control each other naturally and autonomously becomes a reality with BlueRange - "No Wire" is not longer merely a vision. The same applies to automated systems for real time location system, asset tracking and inventory management.

The Challenge

With the inception of BlueRange, Bluetooth technology could only establish direct peer-to-peer connections with the associated disadvantages such as limited reliability. As early as 2015, the BlueRange team recognized the enormous potential of an efficient low-energy mesh solution.

Since then, the goal has been to control several Bluetooth-enabled devices in a network together. Provided the necessary efficiency, this offers an inexhaustible potential of use cases, i.e. the solution for a multitude of diverse challenges in different industries.

Our Solution

Based on a master thesis, a highly efficient BLE mesh was developed which turned formerly unidirectionally communicating Bluetooth beacons into intelligent and bidirectionally communicating Smart Beacons. By means of a scatternet mesh method in combination with a directed acyclic graph, BlueRange is able to communicate more efficiently than with the common Flooding Mesh method.

Based on the device management platform, the complete fleet management of the registered mesh devices can be mapped. A comprehensive administration of individual devices and configuration of firmware and software versions, positions, policies, regulations and entire networks is possible. Based on this mesh data infrastructure, various applications have been developed.

BlueRange Asset Tracking / Real Time Location System

BlueRange Asset Tracking / Real Time Location System determines the position of asset tags, i.e. all conceivable objects in the digitalized space based on the signal strength of the received messages through real-time triangulation.

Lightning Management

Bidirectional communication allows sensor values to be received and control commands to be sent. This resulted in the connection of luminaires into the mesh system which deliver their current consumption and brightness values and can be controlled and regulated via app.

Workspace Management / Building Automation

Sensors and actuators form the basis for building control and building automation. By linking modules and components like presence detectors and lights, temperature sensors, CO2 sensors or air conditioning and blinds via BlueRange Mesh, a building can be controlled. The current and historical status of the network participants is also recorded and documented at any time.

Of course, BlueRange-ready devices work perfectly in conjunction with BacNet/IP(TM) and KNX(R) devices.

BACnet(TM) is a trademark of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE). KNX(R) is registered by KNX.org

Facts

  • Since 2015
  • Markets
  • Lighting Industry, Building Automation, Asset Tracking
  • Highlights
  • Lighting Management Installation at Cube Berlin, Building Automation Installation at ZigZag in Mainz
  • Technologies
  • C/C++, Bluetooth Low Enegergy

Curious About Further Cases?

relution

Securely manage and distribute mobile devices, content and apps

Logistics Platform

Complex, Highly Available and Scalable on the Inside - Intuitive and Error-Free on the Outside

BlueRange
Bluetooth Mesh - Die Lösung zur Digitalisierung der Fläche

BlueRange

In der Produktwelt BlueRange vereint sich alles, was für komplexe (IoT-) End-to-End Lösungen im Bereich Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Mesh Anwendungen anzusiedeln ist, z.B. Asset Tracking, Building Automation, Lighting Management und mehr. Die BlueRange Technologie per se ist an erster Stelle eine kabellose digitale Infrastruktur, ein Protokoll auf Bluetooth Basis, losgelöst von Anwendungen. Je nach Anforderung werden dabei verschiedene Anwendungsfälle abgebildet.

Das Rückgrat von BlueRange ist als Open Source Version (FruityMesh) unter der GPL Lizenz auf Github veröffentlicht und für kommerzielle Projekte unter einer Dual License verfügbar. Das Mesh Protokoll bietet dabei eine deutlich höhere Energieeffizienz bei gleichzeitig höherem Datendurchsatz als vergleichbare Protokolle, wie z.B. das offizielle Bluetooth Mesh der Bluetooth SIG. Dennoch ist BlueRange dabei vollständig kompatibel mit Standard-Bluetooth Geräten.

Ein smartes Gebäude mit Sensoren und Aktoren, welche untereinander ganz natürlich und autonom kommunizieren und sich gegenseitig ansteuern ist mit BlueRange Realität - "No Wire" ist längst keine Vision mehr. Ebenso wie automatisierte Systeme für Real Time Location System, Asset Tracking und Inventarmanagement.

Die Herausforderung

In der Geburtsstunde von BlueRange war die Bluetooth Technologie lediglich in der Lage direkte Peer-to-Peer Verbindungen mit den damit verbundenen Nachteilen wie der eingeschränkten Zuverlässigkeit aufzubauen.
Schon 2015 erkannte das BlueRange Team das enorme Potential, welches in einer effizienten Low Energy Mesh Lösung steckt.

Seitdem steht das Ziel mehrere Bluetooth-fähige Geräte in einem Netzwerk gemeinsam anzusteuern. Eine solche Nutzung bietet, die hierfür notwendige Effizienz vorausgesetzt, ein unerschöpfliches Potential von Anwendungsfällen, also die Lösung für eine Vielzahl an diversen Problemen in unterschiedlichen Branchen.

Die Lösung

Auf Basis einer Master-Thesis wurde ein hoch effizientes BLE Mesh entwickelt, welches aus vormals unidirektional kommunizierenden Bluetooth Beacons intelligente und bidirektional kommunikative Smart Beacons machte. Durch die Anwendung einer Scatternet Mesh Methode in Verbindung mit einem gerichteten azyklischen Graphen ist BlueRange in der Lage effizienter zu kommunizieren, als mit der gängigen Flooding Mesh Methode.

Auf Basis der Device Management Plattform kann das komplette Fleet Management der eingeschriebenen Mesh Geräte abgebildet werden. Hier ist eine umfassende Verwaltung von einzelnen Geräten und Konfiguration von Firmware- und Software Versionen, Positionen, Richtlinien, Regelwerken und ganzen Netzwerken möglich. Auf der Grundlage dieser Mesh Daten-Infrastruktur aufbauend entstanden verschiedene Anwendungen.

BlueRange Asset Tracking / Real Time Location System

BlueRange Asset Tracking / Real Time Location System, bestimmt anhand der Signalstärken der empfangenen Nachrichten per Trilateration in Echtzeit die Position von Asset Tags, also allen denkbaren Objekten im digitalisierten Raum.

Lightning Management

Durch die bidirektionale Kommunikation können Sensorwerte empfangen und Steuerungsbefehle gesendet werden. Daraus ergab sich die Anbindung von Leuchten in das Mesh System, welche ihre aktuellen Verbräuche und Helligkeitswerte liefern und z.B. über eine App angesteuert und geregelt werden können.

Workspace Management / Building Automation

Sensoren und Aktoren bilden die Grundlage für Gebäudesteuerung und Gebäudeautomatisierung. Durch die Verknüpfung von Modulen und Bauteilen, wie z.B. Präsenzmeldern und Leuchten, Temperaturfühlern, CO2-Sensoren oder Klimatisierung und Jalousie, per BlueRange Mesh, kann ein Gebäude automatisch ausgesteuert werden. Auch der aktuelle und der historische Status der Netzwerkteilnehmer werden dabei jederzeit erfasst und dokumentiert.

Selbstverständlich arbeiten BlueRange Komponentnen perfekt mit KNX(R) und BacNet/IP (TM) Geräten zusammen.

BACnet(TM) is a trademark of American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE). KNX(R) is registered by KNX.org

Fakten

Fakten

  • 2015 bis heute
  • Branchen
  • Lichtindustrie, Gebäudeautomation, Asset Tracking
  • Highlights
  • Lighting Management Installation im Cube Berlin, Building Automation Installation für ZigZag in Mainz
  • Technologien
  • C/C++, Bluetooth Low Enegergy

Darfs ein bisschen mehr sein?

relution

Mobilgeräte, Inhalte und Apps sicher verwalten und verteilen

Logistik Plattform

Innen komplex, hochverfügbar, skalierbar – außen intuitiv und fehlerfrei nutzbar