Blockchain
Blockscape - The Blockchain Experts for PoS Networks

The blockchain technology is rapidly growing and might actually represent a second era of the internet. First we’ve had the internet of information - now, we’re getting the internet of value.

Blockchain in a Nutshell

A blockchain is a tamper-evident type of data storage, which for the first time makes it possible to transfer assets between two transaction partners without any intermediaries. Here, data is aggregated at regular intervals (block time) in a virtual container (block) and cryptographically linked to the preceding block. The blockchain is thus to be understood as a kind of global ledger, which can be used to trace who added, changed or deleted which data and when. If something is changed in any block, the cryptographic linking of the blocks with each other in all subsequent blocks makes it possible to verify that the data has been tampered with.

We at MWAY are heavily involved with proof-of-stake based blockchains, as they offer a good compromise between the degree of decentralization and performance.

Cosmos Network

Cosmos Network

One of these projects is the Cosmos Network. As it is common in proof-of-stake based blockchains, in Cosmos, the validator status is determined by the stake, i.e. how large the individual value share is in the network. The larger this stake, the better the validator is rewarded for its work in generating blocks. At the same time, the stake is an incentive for honest behavior, since parts of this stake are destroyed (slashed) in case of misbehavior. Currently, the validator set consists of 125 validators, among which we are also represented as blockscape.

Furthermore, it is also possible for network participants who do not run validators to delegate their stakes to any number of validators they trust from the validator set, in order to be paid proportionally for providing their stakes. However, if the validator misbehaves, the delegators share the risk of being slashed.

Challenges

Running a validator comes with its own set of challenges that needs to be overcome to ensure safe and smooth operation, laying the foundation for mutual trust in the community with other validators and delegators.

In order to reach consensus in the Cosmos Network, a couple of basic rules need to be followed:

  1. A 2/3 majority of the total stakes in the validator set (voting power) must be available/online. If a validator becomes unavailable for a longer period of time, the network is stripped of its voting power that it needs to reach consensus. This means that if more than 1/3 of the voting power becomes unavailable simultaneously, no consensus can be reached.

  2. No conflicting information may be distributed by validators in order to maintain a common truth, which is also known as double signing. If a validator signs more than one block proposal/vote for the current block height, it forks the blockchain through two conflicting pieces of information - also known as double signing.

If one of these rules is violated, the stake of the validator is partially slashed. In case of repeated, serious violations, the validator will be permanently banned (tombstoned).

Infrastructure

Apart from the managing one’s own stake, it is also important to be an attractive option for delegators. In order to consolidate one’s place in the validator set, it is in the interest of every validator to set up a robust and secure infrastructure. A good start is to take a look at the slashing conditions and go from there.

High Availability

First, let’s take a look at system availability. Given that a single validator represents a single point of failure, additional redundant validators must be added to create a highly available one. Each single validator instance must represent the same validator entity, which in turn means that they all have to sign blocks with the same key pair. Since we run all validator instances in parallel in an active/active cluster mainly for reasons of complexity and data protection, our current setup runs the risk of double signing.

Double Signing Protection

In order to ensure double signing protection, there must be a way for the validators in the active/active cluster to determine who signs which messages for which block height and broadcast them into the network.

Permission Log

Consul Architecture with Raft-Based Permission Log

In the first iteration, we solved the problem by using a permission log on a small external Raft cluster. This permission log logs which messages have already been signed by one of the active/active validators. This results in a competition between the validators as to who is the first one to make the log entry in order to claim permission to sign a particular message and broadcast it. If a validator tries to secure signing rights to a message that has already been signed, the signing process is aborted and skipped. Curious to know how it works in more detail? Check out our Guide to High Availability for Cosmos Validators.

Raftify

Raftify Architecture

The second iteration merges the active/active cluster with the Raft cluster using our custom Raftify solution. This creates a validator cluster that uses Raft’s leader election algorithm to grant signing rights to one of the validators until it becomes unavailable and a new one is selected to take its place. One of the advantages of the Raftify approach was that we had to run fewer instances compared to our first iteration. For a more in-depth look at how Raftify goes about all these challenges, you can check out our Raftify Medium article.

Validator Pair

Pairmint Architecture

Our third and most recent iteration completely eliminates the Raft layer by using the blockchain itself as a perfectly synchronous communication medium between the validators. This not only reduces the number of instances needed, but also eliminates the communication overhead associated with Raft. The way it works is that a validator signs all blocks as long as it does not miss a certain number of consecutive blocks. A second backup validator monitors the signatures contained in the blocks and steps in as a signer as soon as it notices its own signature is missing for the specified number of consecutive blocks. As soon as the previous signer becomes available again and synchronizes its blockchain, it will notice that it has been replaced and step down as signer. You can find a conceptual overview on the design on Medium.

Outlook

Over the past years, we have been able to follow and actively participate in many blockchain-based projects. This has ultimately enabled us to acquire valuable expertise and gain a lot of experience on which we can build to stay true to our guiding principle of providing the best possible solutions for our customers. Not least because of its young age, the blockchain is a frequently misunderstood technology, which is also often put in a bad light in the media. With great passion, we are at the forefront of technological advancements and exploration of new applications in the blockchain universe, and are committed to doing our part to make blockchain technology more accessible to those interested and bring light into the darkness.

Blockchain
Blockscape - The Blockchain experts for PoS Networks

Die Blockchain-Technologie wächst in rasantem Tempo und könnte tatsächlich eine zweite Ära des Internets darstellen. Zuerst hatten wir das Internet der Informationen - nun bekommen wir das Internet der Werte.

Blockchain kurz und knapp

Eine Blockchain ist eine manipulationsevidente Art der Datenspeicherung, die es erstmals ermöglicht Vermögenswerte, ohne jegliche Intermediäre zwischen zwei Transaktionspartnern zu übertragen. Hierbei werden Daten in regelmäßigen zeitlichen Abständen (Blockzeit), in einem virtuellen Sammelcontainer (Block) aggregiert und mit dem Vorgängerblock kryptografisch verknüpft. Die Blockchain ist also als eine Art Hauptbuch zu verstehen, mithilfe dessen nachvollzogen werden kann, wer wann welche Daten hinzugefügt, geändert oder gelöscht hat. Wird an irgendeinem Block etwas verändert, ist durch die kryptografische Verknüpfung der Blöcke miteinander in allen Folgeblöcken nachvollziehbar (=evident), dass die Daten verfälscht wurden.

Wir bei MWAY beschäftigen uns verstärkt mit Proof-of-Stake-basierten Blockchains, da sie für uns einen guten Kompromiss zwischen dem Frad der Dezentralisierung und der Performance bieten.

Cosmos Network

Cosmos Network

Eines dieser Projekte ist das Cosmos Network. Wie es in Proof-of-Stake-basierten Blockchains üblich ist, wird in Cosmos der Validatorstatus durch den Stake bestimmt, d.h. wie groß der individuelle Wertanteil am Netzwerk ist. Je größer dieser Stake, desto besser wird der Validator für seine Arbeit Blöcke zu generieren belohnt. Zugleich stellt der Stake einen Anreiz für aufrichtiges Verhalten dar, da bei Fehlverhalten Teile dieses Stakes vernichtet (geslasht) werden. Derzeit besteht das Validatorenset aus 125 Validatoren, unter denen auch wir als blockscape vertreten sind.

Darüber hinaus ist es auch Netzwerkteilnehmern die keine Validatoren sind möglich ihre Stakes an beliebig viele Validatoren aus dem Validatorenset zu delegieren, denen sie vertrauen, um ebenso anteilig für die Bereitstellung ihrer Stakes entlohnt zu werden. Bei Fehlverhalten des Validator teilen sich die Delegatoren dann allerdings das Risiko geslasht zu werden.

Herausforderungen

Der Betrieb eines Validators bringt seine eigenen Herausforderungen mit sich, die es für den sicheren und reibungslosen Betrieb zu meistern gilt, um den Grundstein für gegenseitiges Vertrauen in der Community mit anderen Validatoren und Delegatoren zu legen.

Damit ein gemeinsamer Konsens im Cosmos Network erreicht werden kann, müssen ein paar Grundregeln eingehalten werden:

  1. Eine 2/3-Mehrheit der gesamten Stakes im Validatorset (Voting Power) muss verfügbar/online sein. Fällt nun ein Validator für längere Zeit aus, fehlt dem Netzwerk dementsprechend die Voting Power, die für die Konsenserreichung notwendig ist. Das bedeutet, dass kein Konsens erreicht werden kann, wenn mehr als 1/3 der Voting Power gleichzeitig wegbricht.

  2. Es dürfen keine widersprüchlichen Informationen von Validatoren verbreitet werden, um eine gemeinsame Wahrheit zu wahren. Signiert ein Validator nun mehr als ein Block-Proposal/-Vote für die aktuelle Blockhöhe, forkt er die Blockchain durch zwei miteinander in Konflikt stehenden Informationen - auch bekannt als Double Signing.

Wird eine dieser Regeln verletzt, wird der Stake des Validators teilweise geslasht. Bei wiederholten, schwerwiegenden Vergehen, wird der Validator dann permanent gesperrt (tombstoned).

Infrastruktur

Neben dem Verwalten des eigenen Stakes ist es ebenfalls wichtig, eine attraktive Option für Delegatoren zu sein. Um seinen Platz im Validatorenset zu festigen, ist es im Interesse eines jeden Validators eine robuste und sichere Infrastruktur aufzustellen. Ein guter Anfang ist es, sich an den Slashing-Konditionen zu orientieren.

Hochverfügbarkeit

Werfen wir zunächst einen Blick auf die Systemverfügbarkeit. Da ein einzelner Validator einen Single Point of Failure darstellt, müssen weiterer redundante Validatoren hinzugenommen werden, um letztendlich einen hochverfügbaren Validator zu schaffen. Jede einzelne Validatorinstanz muss hierbei dieselbe Validatorentität repräsentieren, was im Umkehrschluss bedeutet, dass sie alle Blöcke mit demselben Schlüsselpaar signieren müssen. Da wir alle Validatorinstanzen v.a. aus Gründen der Komplexität und Datensicherung parallel in einem Aktiv/Aktiv-Cluster betreiben, laufen wir nach dem jetzigen Stand zwangsweise Gefahr Double Signing zu begehen.

Schutz vor Double Signing

Um Schutz vor Double Signing zu gewährleisten, braucht es eine Möglichkeit, wie die Validatoren im Aktiv/Aktiv-Cluster untereinander ausmachen können, wer welche Nachrichten für welche Blockhöhe zu signieren und ins Netzwerk zu broadcasten.

Permission Log

In der ersten Iteration haben wir das Problem mithilfe eines Permission Logs auf einem kleinen externen Raft-Cluster gelöst. Dieser Permission Log protokolliert welche Nachrichten bereits von einem der Aktiv/Aktiv-Validatoren signiert wurde. Daraus entsteht zwischen den Validatoren ein Wettbewerb, wer zuerst den Eintrag im Log vornehmen kann, um sich so die Signierrechte für die jeweilige Nachricht zu sichern. Versucht ein Validator sich die Rechte an einer bereits signierten Nachricht zu sichern, wird der Signiervorgang abgebrochen und übersprungen. Dich interessiert, wie das Ganze im Detail funktioniert? In unserem Guide to High Availability for Cosmos Validators gehen wir näher darauf ein.

Raftify

Raftify Architecture

Die zweite Iteration verschmilzt das Aktiv/Aktiv- mit dem Raft Cluster mithilfe unserer eigens entwickelten Raftify Lösung. So entsteht daraus ein Validatoren-Cluster, das über den Leader Election Algorithmus von Raft einem der Validatoren Signierrechte erteilt, bis dieser ausfällt und ein neuer Ersatz gewählt wird. Einer der Vorteile des Raftify-Ansatzes bestand für uns darin weniger Instanzen im Vergleich zu unserer ersten Iteration betreiben zu müssen. Unser Raftify Mediumartikel bietet einen vollumfänglichen Blick unter die Haube von Raftify.

Validatorpaar

Pairmint Architecture

Unsere dritte und aktuellste Iteration beseitigt den Raft-Layer vollständig, indem die Blockchain an sich als perfektes synchrones Kommunikationsmedium zwischen den Validatoren genutzt wird. Dadurch reduzieren haben wir nicht nur die Zahl der benötigten Instanzen noch weiter reduziert, sondern auch den durch Raft bedingten Kommunikationsoverhead eliminiert. Es funktioniert so, dass ein Validator alle Blöcke signiert, solange er nicht eine bestimmte Anzahl an aufeinanderfolgenden Blöcken verpasst. Ein zweiter Backup-Validator überwacht die in den Blöcken enthaltenen Signaturen und springt als Signer ein, sobald er merkt, dass die eigene Signatur über die vorgegebene Anzahl an aufeinanderfolgenden Blöcken nicht enthalten war. Der ursprüngliche Signer, der nun ersetzt wurde, wird dann beim Synchronisieren seiner Blockchain bemerken, dass er abgelöst wurde, und tritt als Signer ab. Ein Konzeptüberblick ist auf Medium zu finden.

Ausblick

Über die vergangenen Jahre konnten wir viele blockchainbasierte Projekte mitverfolgen und aktiv mitwirken. Dadurch haben wir uns letztlich wertvolles Fachwissen aneignen und viel Erfahrung sammeln können, auf das wir bauen können, um unserem Leitsatz treu zu bleiben, die bestmöglichen Lösungen für unsere Kunden bereitzustellen. Das Themenfeld der Blockchain ist nicht zuletzt aufgrund ihres jungen Alters eine häufig missverstandene Technologie, die in den Medien des Öfteren auch ins schlechte Licht gerückt wird. Wir sind mit großer Leidenschaft an der Vorfront der technischen Entwicklungen und neuen Anwendungsgebieten des Blockchainuniversums, und setzen uns dafür ein die Blockchaintechnologie für Interessierte zugänglicher zu machen und Licht ins Dunkel zu bringen.